Osher Lifelong Learning Institute

Nobel Nobels: Our American Winners, Lewis, O’Neill and Buck (1930-1949)


Price for Members: $60
Price for Non-Members: $90
Date/Time: Weds., Oct. 7, 14, 21, 28, & Nov. 4 10:30 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.
Instructor: Susan Fox, Ph.D., English literature, UCD
Location: ONLINE

Sold Out

Want a discount? Please sign-in if you are a member or click here to Register.

Course Description

To date, eleven U.S. authors have been awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature.  Sinclair Lewis was first in 1930.  Bob Dylan, the most recent, got his in 2017.  Alfred Nobel’s will established this prestigious award for annual presentation in 1895, and writers from around the globe were eligible.  It is regarded as one of the highest honors, if not the highest, an author can achieve.  Ms. Fox will focus on the first three American authors to win the prize: Sinclair Lewis (1930); Eugene O’Neill (1936); and Pearl S. Buck (1938).  She will lead us through reviews of the books and plays these three produced and set the historical backgrounds and controversies that paved the way to their recognition as Nobel winners.  Allow OLLI and Ms. Fox to lead you down the complex path to “Nobelity.”

Event Details

Date: 2020-10-07

Start time: 10:30 a.m.

End time: 12:30 p.m.



Upcoming Courses