Osher Lifelong Learning Institute

Lady Laureates: Female Nobel Prize Winners for Literature


Price for Members: $57
Price for Non-Members: $85
Date/Time: Mon. Aug. 9, 16, 23 & 30            1:30 – 3:30
Instructor: Robert Weibezahl, MA Humanities, CSUDH, BA English, Haverford College
Location: ONLINE
Click “View Details” to learn more about this course from Robert Weibezahl 

50 in stock

Want a discount? Please sign-in if you are a member or click here to Register.

Course Description

Of the 117 writers who have been awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature, only 16 have been women.  This small cadre stands out for their artistry, their contribution to the culture of their own countries, and for the universality of the themes and insights they convey with their work.  Mr. Weibezahl’s course will survey the lives and accomplishments  of all these remarkable women—from Sweden’s Selma Lageröf in 1909 to the most recent recipient of the award, U.S. poet Louise Glück in 2020.  Along the way he’ll pause to savor the work of such masters as Toni Morrison, Nadine Gordimer, Alice Munro, Doris Lessing, Pearl Buck and many more.  It’s an array of talent not to be missed.  Join OLLI and Mr. Weibezahl to enjoy it.

Click play to learn more about this course from Robert Weibezahl


Event Details

Date: 2021-08-09

Start time: 01:30 p.m.

End time: 03:30 p.m.



Upcoming Courses